Board of Health


The Forsyth County Board of Health is the governing body for Forsyth County Department of Public Health. State law mandates that there be a local Board of Health for every county or local health district. The Board of Health is the appointing authority for the Local Health Director and oversees the Health Director in his/her role as executive director of the Health Department. The Board of Health has the authority to adopt local rules which address health issues and which are enforced by the Health Director and staff of the Health Department.


Membership of the Board of Health is also prescribed by state law. The Board is composed of 11 members including: a physician, a dentist, an optometrist, a veterinarian, a registered nurse, a pharmacist, an engineer, a county commissioner, and three representatives of the general public. The members are appointed by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, and may serve a maximum of three consecutive three-year terms.

Currently Serving

Term Expires
Mr. John M Davenport Jr.  1/31/2017
Dr. James K Doub  1/31/2017
Ms. Carrie D Fernald  1/31/2017
Mr. Marlon Hunter   
Dr. Calvert B Jeffers Jr.  7/30/2018
Dr. Charles F Massler, Jr., D.D.S., M.E  1/30/2018
Dr. Willard L McCloud Jr.  1/31/2017
Dr. Linda L Petrou  4/30/2016
Dr. Scott E Schroeder  1/31/2017
Mr. J. Phil Seats  1/30/2018
Dr. Ricky R Sides  4/30/2016
Ms. Gloria D Whisenhunt  1/30/2019


The Forsyth County Board of Health meets on the first Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room at the Health Department, 799 N. Highland Ave., Winston-Salem, NC. The meetings are open to the public.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Forsyth County Department of Public Health is to prevent disease and promote a healthy community through regulation, education and partnerships.

Adopted by the Board of Health 10/2/13.

Accredited Health Department 2009-2013

Online Tools