

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Meeting Agenda August 17, 2021 – 5:00 p.m.

Cooper-Cardwell Board Room Forsyth County Government Center- Second Floor

Board meetings will resume in person, attendees will be required to follow the Forsyth County COVID-19 protocols; the use of masks will be required for all attendees.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Precinct Officials for 2021-23 Term
- 6. Approval of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for November 2, 2021 Municipal Election
- 7. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes August 17, 2021 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the second floor Board Meeting Room on Tuesday, August 17, 2021 at 5:00 p.m., Chairman Durrah presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Durrah, Secretary Jourdan, Member Doomy, Member Harvey, Member Draper

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tsujii (via Telephone), Deputy Director Bobadilla, Danielle Malone, Adam Clark, and Kimberly Stuck

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Durrah led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Durrah led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairman Durrah provided those in attendance an overview of the Public Comment policy prior to opening the public comment session.

Jeremy Nakkas – 3216 Kensington Pl, Winston Salem, NC 27103 James Knox – 125 Buckhaven Ct., Rural Hall, NC 27045

Member Harvey moved to close public comments; Member Doomy seconded; Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Precinct Officials for 2021-23 Term

Ms. Malone provided the Board the lists of Precinct Officials for review and approval as well as an overview of the Help Desk Official position. Ms. Malone shared with the board the staff's recommendation to appoint Ms. Fourtnoy in place of Mr. Jonbeloed due to failure to follow protocols as provided in G.S. 163-41 - read for reference by Director Tsujii. Secretary Jourdan moved to approve Ms. Fourtnoy in lieu of Mr. Jonbeloed for Precinct 204; Member Harvey seconded; Mr. Draper opposed. Motion passed 4-1.

Member Doomy moved to accept staff recommendations of Precinct Officials that provided a single appointment for Chief Judges, Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

The Board began review and approval of precincts with multiple officials for consideration:

- Precinct 54 Member Doomy moved to appoint Mr. Messenger as Chief Judge, Member Draper seconded; Mr. Durrah opposed. Motion passed 4-1.
- Precinct 72 Member Doomy moved to place Ms. Penn on reserve list and to appoint Mr. Norton as Judge; Member Draper seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 81 Member Doomy moved to place Ms. Dotson in precinct 081, Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

- Precinct 91 Member Harvey moved to appoint Ms. Jones as Chief Judge; Member Doomy seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 92 Member Doomy moved to appoint Ms. Farmer as Help Desk Official; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 132 Member Draper moved to appoint Ms. Elmore as Chief Judge, Ms. Councilman as Help Desk Official, and to place Ms. Leonardi in Precinct 809; Member Doomy seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 201 Secretary Jourdan moved to place Mr. Coleman on reserve list; Member Doomy seconded; Motion carried unanimously.
- Precinct 402 Member Doomy moved to appoint Ms. Hopkins as Chief Judge and Mr. Sloane as Help Desk Official; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 501 Member Draper moved to place Mr. Turner on reserve list and appoint Mr. Kline as Help Desk Official; Member Doomy seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 503 Member Doomy moved to appoint Ms. Edgerton as Help Desk Official, Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 504 Member Doomy moved to appoint Ms. Sansbury as Chief Judge, and Ms. William as Help Desk Official; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.
- Precinct 903 Member Doomy moved to appoint Ms. Dixon as Chief Judge and place Ms. Reading on reserve list; Member Draper seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for November 2, 2021 Municipal Election

Deputy Director Bobadilla provided an overview of the proposed One-Stop Early Voting schedule. She explained that based on data from previous municipal election years, the Board of Elections office could accommodate all voters during the One-Stop Early Voting period and therefore, there was no need for additional sites. Member Doomy moved to approve the One-Stop Early Voting plan for November 2, 2021 Municipal Election; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Member Doomy moved to approve the meeting minutes as submitted; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

Deputy Director Bobadilla requested the Board to review and sign the updated Confidentiality Agreement; Director Tsujii guided them to the specific bullet points added to the updated agreement. Ms. Bobadilla informed the board and the public that Board meetings will be available for the public to attend on-line and in person starting on the meeting of August 26, 2021.

Closed Session (if necessary)

Chairman Durrah stated no Closed Session.

Adjournment

Member Draper moved to adjourn; Member Doomy seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 6:51 p.m.

Approved:

s:/Robert Durrah, Jr. Chair

> s:/Chad Doomy Member

s:/Adam Draper Member

s:/Catherine Jourdan Secretary

> s:/Alfred Harvey Member