Committee Details

Back to List

Ten-Year Plan Commission on Homelessness


The purpose of the Commission is to effect the vision of the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Ten-Year Plan to End Chronic Homelessness, including overseeing implementation of the strategic initiatives described in the Ten-Year Plan to End Chronic Homelessness.


The Commission is comprised of twelve menbers. Six members are appointed by the City Council, upon recommendation of the Mayor. Five members are appointed by the County Commissioners. The Mayor and the Chairperson of the County Commissioners shall appoint the Chairperson of the Commission. The membership shall be representative of the Homeless Council as well as other supportive services, and may include: rental real estate, mental health, social services, businesses and professionals, criminal justice, education and workforce development, advocacy and consumers, with one member affiliated with the Neighborhood Alliance or Neighborhood Association and one member having an accounting, financial, or CPA background. Elected City and County officials shall be appointed as ex-officio, non-voting members of the Commission.
Blank Line
The terms of office are for three years. Initially, six members will serve two-year terms, five members will serve three-year terms, and the Chairperson will serve a two-year term. Members are limited to two consecutive terms.


Monthly - TBA

Open Appointments

The following appointments are open for applicants:

Capacity and Additional Information
Deadline to Apply
No data to display

District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.