Back to List

Firefighters Relief Fund Board of Trustees


General Statutes 58-84-1, 58-84-5, 58-84-10, 58-84-25, 58-84-30, 58-84-35 and 58-84-40 established the “Firemen’s Relief Fund”. The fund is based on a state tax that is applied to all premiums written on fire and lightning insurance policies covering property located within specific fire districts. These funds can be used to:

    Blank Line
  1. Safeguard firefighters from financial loss caused by sickness or injury contracted while in the performance of duties as a firefighter.
  2. Provide reasonable support for dependants of firefighters that are killed in the line of duty.
  3. Provide assistance to a destitute firefighter.
  4. Provide assistance to a firefighter to pay insurance dues.
  5. Provide supplemental retirement, workers compensation and other insurance and pension protection for firefighters.
  6. Provide educational benefits to firefighters and their dependants.
Blank Line

The primary purpose of the Board is to determine investment strategies for the fund and disbursements from the fund.


The Board consists of five members. Two members are appointed by the Forsyth County Fire and Rescue Association and serve a term of two years. Two members are appointed by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners and serve a term of two years. One member is appointed by the North Carolina Commissioner of Insurance and serves at the pleasure of the Commissioner.

Currently Serving

Term Expires
Mr. Fred W Beroth  1/30/2017
Mr. Jerry B Lewis  1/30/2017
Mr. Timothy L Whicker Deputy Fire Marshall 


The Board meets upon the call of the Chairman, a majority of the members, or the Fire Administrator.

Other Information


District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.