Back to List

Northwest Child Development Advisory Council


There is in each county in which the Corporation conducts child development programs, a County Child Development Committee which will elect members to the Board of Directors of the Corporation and advise the Board of Directors concerning the operation of programs of the Corporation.


The number of members on each County Committee shall not be less than 9 or more than 21. At least one-third (1/3) of the County Committee shall consist of local publicly elected officials or the principal officers (or designated representatives) of public agencies concerned with welfare of children (Department of Social Services, Department of Health, Board of Education, and Mental Health Authority).
Blank Line
At least one-third (1/3) members shall be parents or guardians of children eligible to be served by programs conducted by the Corporation. Remaining members shall be persons recommended by private agencies and organizations concerned with welfare of children.
Blank Line
Initially, two (2) members serve for 1-year terms, two (2) for 2-year terms, and one (1) for 3-year term, such terms beginning on last Tuesday in July (7-27-76). Upon expiration of initial terms, each member or his replacement shall serve staggered 3-year terms.

Currently Serving

Term Expires
Mr. Tony L Burton III Exec. Director 
Ms. Barbara F Gerhard  6/30/2016
Ms. Joyce H McAdams  6/30/2016
Ms. Joann Smart  6/30/2015


Fourth Monday of each month - 12:15 p.m. - Northwest Child Development Offices - 530 N. Spring Street, Winston-Salem, NC

Other Information


District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.