Committee Details

Back to List

Experiment in Self-Reliance


Experiment in Self-Reliance empowers people to become economically and socially self-sufficient through developing skills, building assets, obtaining education and housing, enhancing strengths, and overcoming barriers to success. ESR stimulates community change to eliminate poverty and homelessness through education, advocacy, and building economic and social capital.


The Board consists of 15-21 persons from throughout the community, and is divided into thirds according to the following categories:
Blank Line
1/3 representatives elected in the low-income communities served by ESR, or appointed from an organization that serves this constituency, including a homeless representative and a veterans representative.
Blank Line
1/3 appointed by the Winston-Salem Mayor's Office/City Council and the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners.
Blank Line
1/3 serving from "special interest" sectors of the community, including business, finance, law, medicine, education, faith-based community, etc.


The Experiment in Self-Reliance Board of Directors meets monthly from September through June, on the first Wednesday of the month, at Noon, at ESR (1621 East Third Street).

Open Appointments

The following appointments are open for applicants:

Capacity and Additional Information
Deadline to Apply
No data to display

District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.