C. G. Hill Memorial Park has a rich history behind it. The property was originally
owned by a third generation American named John Jacob Schaub, one of the early Moravian
settlers. He built his family's home on the site in 1830 and lived there until his
death seven years later. Mr. Schaub's descendants sold the property to Mr. Charles
G. Hill in 1951.
The Hill family donated 13 acres to the City of Winston-Salem and the County of
Forsyth in 1971 for use as a public park. The Schaub House and certain parcels of
surrounding land were sold for renovation in early 1983. The dwelling has since
been restored and placed on the National Register of Historic Places. The park used
its portion of the funds generated from the sale to develop the park which opened
May 30, 1985, and was named after its benefactor. Some additional funds from Mrs.
Hill have been received by the County to continue development.
In the meantime, the County has bought additional adjoining land from the City of
Winston-Salem to grow this park to 70 acres in size. An asphalt trail system was
enlarged into the area for our park walkers and bicycle riders.
C.G. Hill Memorial Park has a rich history and its visitors continue to enjoy all
its activities and the legacy behind the park.